Leave A Review

Click the logos below to leave a review on your favorite social media sites!

Allentown Location
Whitehall Location
Coplay Location


  • review rating 5  One of my favorite bakeries ever, used to come here as a child. Only thing is I wish y'all shipped your products, I recently moved out of state. 😞

    thumb Taylor Strini
    10/07/2019
  • review rating 5  These days, it's really difficult to find a bakery like Egypt Star, fresh seeded rye (request to ask them to slice it), peanut butter & jelly donuts are so great, cream puffs and eclairs are filled with a Bavarian cream mixed with white cream. Light and filled to outer shell. So much to choose from; all ladies are delightful and eager to help. Not sure if anything is stale because the lines are long and items sell quickly.

    thumb Patricia Nemeth
    8/30/2019
  • review rating 5  I have been going to Egypt Star Bakery since I was a kid. My mom used to send us to the original location on Front Street in Allentown for rye bread, donuts, cheese buns, eclairs, and her favorite pumpernickel bread. I go to the Whitehall location now. Everything is still as good today as it was all those years ago!! ❤️

    thumb Esther Azar
    6/05/2019
  • review rating 5  MaryAnn and Carole are the best, please make sure you stop by Egypt Star on MacArthur Rd in Whitehall.

    thumb Juan Dipini
    5/02/2019
  • review rating 5  Customer for life!

    thumb Harold Nothstein
    4/18/2019

Leave A Review

Click the logos below to leave a review on your favorite social media sites!

Allentown Location
Whitehall Location
Coplay Location


  • review rating 5  One of my favorite bakeries ever, used to come here as a child. Only thing is I wish y'all shipped your products, I recently moved out of state. 😞

    thumb Taylor Strini
    10/07/2019
  • review rating 5  These days, it's really difficult to find a bakery like Egypt Star, fresh seeded rye (request to ask them to slice it), peanut butter & jelly donuts are so great, cream puffs and eclairs are filled with a Bavarian cream mixed with white cream. Light and filled to outer shell. So much to choose from; all ladies are delightful and eager to help. Not sure if anything is stale because the lines are long and items sell quickly.

    thumb Patricia Nemeth
    8/30/2019
  • review rating 5  I have been going to Egypt Star Bakery since I was a kid. My mom used to send us to the original location on Front Street in Allentown for rye bread, donuts, cheese buns, eclairs, and her favorite pumpernickel bread. I go to the Whitehall location now. Everything is still as good today as it was all those years ago!! ❤️

    thumb Esther Azar
    6/05/2019
  • review rating 5  MaryAnn and Carole are the best, please make sure you stop by Egypt Star on MacArthur Rd in Whitehall.

    thumb Juan Dipini
    5/02/2019
  • review rating 5  Customer for life!

    thumb Harold Nothstein
    4/18/2019

We bake fresh bread, pastries, and more every morning, 7 days a week. As a result, you know you’re getting the freshest breads, cakes, and more straight from the oven. Family owned and operated bakery for over 80 years. Accordingly, bread is our way of life. Above all others, our primary goal is to make the best desserts, donuts, and other goods. Lastly, we’ve been serving the entire Lehigh Valley for years and our customers can attest to the high quality.

Check out our Lehigh Valley Bakery Reviews. Come read about our fresh baked goods straight from our customers.

Egypt Star bread and baked goods are the best in Allentown! Love the doughnuts and apricot danishes. Been enjoying them since I was a kid. It’s a family tradition, My dad grew up on Front Street and he is gone there since he was a kid too.

Maria Wirth Schlesinger

Facebook Review

Ordered a chocolate cake with strawberry filling and butter cream icing…chocolate cake was one of the best I’ve ever had from a bakery. Everyone raved about how good and moist this cake was and I would definitely recommend this bakery to anyone….DELICIOUS

Maryann Woodring

Facebook Review

My whole family drives from Lebanon and Lancaster PA to regularly pick up Egypt star rye bread! It’s the only kind of bread we ever have. I was raised on it, and have never found a better bread in all my travels. Even our guests know to grab a slice when they stop in at our houses. Thank you for the years of happiness your breads and doughnuts have provided our family! All of our best get togethers include a plate full of Egypt star rye!

Evalina Dombrowski

Facebook Review

My first visit was about a month ago. Locals claim this bakery is quite awesome so I had to give it a try. I’m not a native to Whitehall nor PA. for that matter so of course I had my favorite bakery from my hometown. I was greeted with smiles and courtesy. This young man introduced me to a puffy plain filled doughnut. Mind you, I’m not much of a doughnut eater but I figured I’d give them a try along with some fresh baked rolls. Those doughnuts were the best I have ever had. Light, airy, and the filling was not overly sweet. Of course we made a 2nd trip and will continue to do so. Next will be the sticky buns for my mom to try. Thank you Egypt Star. You now have new patrons.

Lisa Castner Glose

Facebook Review

Best bakery ever! Doughnuts are the best. Creme filled are crazy good! The pierogies they’ve been selling are fantastic. I’m a total doughnut freak – no one comes close!

Todd R.

Yelp Review

I love coming here for their powdered doughnuts and French bread…crusty outside and soft/chewy inside. My friend from Germany always makes fun of the sliced bread you get from the standard grocery stores because it’s like air, so I bought a fresh loaf of country the at Egypt star and he said it’s much better! Germany is known to make great bread so if he says that the bread is great here, then take his word for it.

I recommend splurging on some European butter or kerrigold butter and slather it on some of their French bread. Heavennnnnn.

Christie N.

Yelp Review

Delicious is the only word to explain the amazing pastries,eclairs,breads,cheese buns & best of all the Awesome buttercream iced Birthday cakes!! The staff is sweet & engages in your experience & joy of picking out goodies for every holiday & occasion!! Thank you Beth.

Tammy L.

Yelp Review

Deserving of every star. This is where to go in the valley for donuts. I pick up every Sunday for my team at work, and have heard nothing but great things. Prices are also great. My favorite? The Ice Ring.

Joshua J.

Yelp Review

The closest you’ll get to a NY style bakery here in the Valley! I’ve been going to Egypt Star since I moved to this area 6 years ago. The bakery is infamous among locals and for a very good reason. The donuts and breads are delicious and fresh. The danishes are to die for! Everything is very reasonable as well for East Coast standards. Never had an issue with customer service, everyone in there is very nice and helpful. Save yourself the drive to NY/NJ when you have a sweets craving and check out Egypt Star.

Noreen C.

Yelp Review

This is what bread is supposed to taste like.

Their french bread is absolutely amazing. I go every week to pick up a loaf for myself & my parents. I’ve been eating their bread ever since I was young, & the taste of it is still the same now that I’m 20 years older. I’d recommend this bakery to anyone.

LOVE THEM!!!

We have been eating these delicoius donuts for over 50 years! The best are the cream filled yeast donuts. The cream has the perfect texture and sweetness! The nut rolls and poppy seed rolls are fabulous. Don’t forget to try the Easter bread. YUM!

My family has been coming to this place for years, generationally. They specialize in Lehigh Valley/ German style baked goods, but have other things as well. I love their kipfels, particularly the apricot and prune varieties.

This is where my family goes for bread when we want good neo-French bread like those we had in Vietnam. Made fresh everyday – reasonable prices – and it smells heavenly the minute you walk in the door! Wegman’s might have good bread but Egypt Star is still my hands down favorite! Not sure what they’re called in English but the French name for them is “flute” – looks like a big fat baguette :). The smell of this place always takes me back to Vietnam growing up smelling the fresh baked bread every morning, as well as takes me back to my 4am drunken walks home in Lyon where the bakers rise before the sun and the bread almost burn your fingers it’s so fresh, hot from the oven.

Thuy H.